Trading Chart Analysis Enlightenment – Achievement Unlocked!

enlightenment

 

I’ve once again fallen behind providing updates on my trading, but events that occurred this week provided my most significant milestone to date.

When it comes to investments and trading, my main tool of the trade is chart analysis, that is analyzing price and volume movements over time as an indicator of future market moves. As prices tend to be pretty volatile and jumpy, trying to see the order in the seeming chaos is no easy task. Like looking at cloud formations, it’s easy to see what you “want” to see rather than what is actually happening.

So my focus over the months and years was to develop a system approach to interpreting prices moves, which are a collection of reactions of support (buying) and resistance (selling).

Going back in time to my banner year in 2012, I had a great intuitive feel for market price movement using trendline analysis, but over time lost that intuitive focus the following year. This is the problem with just using intuition or gut instincts- they come from the sub conscious and as such can be elusive to hold on to since you can’t evaluate on a conscious level. One is basically doing things without knowing the details of how and why certain actions are taking place.  My focus then shifted into making that intuitive subconscious knowledge into conscious knowledge.

Last year I made a big discovery that helped me lock in some conscious mapping of resistance and support price action and improved trendline drawing and analysis. This helped immensely with helping to refine my system to make it a better predictor of future price action. My last posted performance results were the fruit of that work.

Despite the major progress, there was still one significant problem- while I had developed a system of chart trendline analysis to predict moves, I couldn’t explain the action it was doing. I could tell where the price was going to go by chart constructs, buy it didn’t make sense to me logically. So I would place trades that my analysis told me would succeed, but I felt would fail, because the movement didn’t “look” right. The trades succeeded, but that disconnect between my trendline analysis and intuition eventually led to problems and my search for more clarity.

More grind work and chart analysis R&D ensued with a healthy amount of trial and error over the next several weeks which culminated in yet a new breakthrough discovery this week.

The discovery came as I was analyzing my failed trades after market – which is where most of my big breakthroughs occur. I realized that my assumptions made for constructing trendlines were not all correct. In some cases the rules of behavior I had made were incorrect. In other cases, the rules were correct, but my application of them was off.

I did some recalibrating, refining, and adjusting of my trendlines and price behavior assumptions when a new level of enlightenment started seeping in. I was now able to do chart analysis that perfectly captured price moves based on support and resistance. The key difference with this new modified analysis was that I now understood the market movement and there was no longer a disconnect between my intuition and analysis.

I could now look back on the market moves of 2012 and understand the behavior by both intuition and reason, which is what I did when I tested my new understanding on past years data to verify consistency.

Long story short, I’m as about as close to achieving the holy grail of creating a system of both high precision and high probability trades as I think I will get.

Now as usual, I write this ahead of fully implementing my system as this discovery is hot off the press. I also know that seasoned traders would take what I said with a grain of salt as we’ve all heard bold claims before on trading forums that came up short. Performance results going forward will show the reality. But I’m stating my discovery and assessment now because that’s how confident I am based on back testing and preliminary results.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

